Skip to content

Casual Landscape

January 17, 2012

Have you faced any situation when you can not do what you want to do? You know it is not coming out but you don’t know exactly what the reason is. Same situation happened to me last night. I was trying to paint something but I did not come up with. Why – I don’t know. There was a mental blockage. I was waiting armed with watercolor but couldn’t start. This condition remained for a few hours. At last I threw the paper, took another and started painting. I was not sure about what I was going to do. Excess pigments were there to be washed away. I dabbed my brush in colors and laid my first stroke. Within a few minutes a landscape started to emerge. Was it a view of a sea? I thought so; enhancement was, therefore, required. After a few more brush strokes it looked like a sea. I erected a hard rock in it. It may signify my mental blockage on that time. Here I am sharing it. I don’t know whether you would like it or not, but I feel relaxed as if a burden has been removed from my shoulder.

Casual Landscape-01

From → tutorial

6 Comments
  1. I really like the painting. Of course, I am not an expert on this subject, as my focus is strictly on watercolor house portraits. But as a lover of art in general, I can tell you that this painting is, to me, special. I think it’s because you’ve shared the background behind it as well. Knowing the struggle behind this watercolor makes it more than just a painting, you know? It’s got a story to it. I often find that I like certain paintings of mine more than others just because there is more of a story or more effort behind them. Maybe that’s just me though. 😉

    • Anindya permalink

      you are right Carol. you have told a very own experience of an artist. the energy we spend behind a painting no body knows from where it comes. even hatred can be an inspiration of a painting. “i don’t like to paint so i paint.” most of us are running behind the perfection and gradually we are loosing our urge. i believe when a story comes out of a painting which connect the audience, then only it really becomes an art, otherwise it is a mere representation. thank you for sharing those beautiful words. 🙂

  2. I have done this, also, Anindya. By the looks of it, you did a great job of having fun with your watercolors. This is beautiful. You have transported us to another time and place, somewhat effortlessly. I usually call this “watercolor taking me on a journey”.

    • Anindya permalink

      you are absolutely right Leslie. when journey begins through painting, we start telling a story as well. thanks for your comment. 😀

  3. Hi Anindya. It’s nice to know other people suffer occasional “blocks” – I get them too. I also get around it by free painting – just idly splashing colours and water on paper. Sometimes a painting emerges, sometimes it doesn’t. It really doesn’t matter. The important thing is, you are painting and getting back into the flow. Watercolour is a passion, and like all passionate relationships there are highs and lows.
    Keep up the good work, and keep spreading the word!

    • Anindya permalink

      thanks Keith. you have explained it beautifully. indeed art form is the true expression of human emotions. we make it tangible through art to convey an intangible experience to others. art form is a kind of bridge. and i thank to The all mighty to give us the ability to express ourselves. i have chosen watercolor as a medium, because i feel comfortable with it and also i feel it might express ‘myself’ better.
      you might have seen my new series coming up occasionally in my blog. this is an honest effort to express myself. in future i hope it would come up as a small book along with my writing.

Leave a Reply

